Our History

picKujawa EC/PK Center opened its doors in August of 2008. Our school is named after former Aldine ISD Superintendent Nadine Kujawa, who dedicated 42 years to the students and staff of Aldine.  During her 42 years, Mrs. Kujawa served as teacher, assistant principal, principal, Director of Personnel, Assistant Superintendent of Personnel, Deputy Superintendent of Human Resources and Instruction, and Deputy Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction before being named Superintendent of Schools in 2001. Mrs. Kujawa was the first woman Superintendent of Aldine ISD, as well as being the first graduate of an AISD school to hold the position. In 2006, Mrs. Kujawa was selected as Region 4 Superintendent of the Year among 54 superintendents in the Houston area and was also one of five finalists for Texas Superintendent of the Year. At the school dedication ceremony in November 2008, Aldine Elementary was renamed to Kujawa Elementary and Kujawa EC/PK was named in her honor, becoming Kujawa Education Center.  During the dedication ceremony, Mrs. Kujawa stated: "It does take a village to raise a child and each group has its job to do to see that every child learns. This is our village and it will take all of us to make the children in our village successful. Learning has to be a partnership between the students, parents, school, and the community."

Mrs. Kujawa continues to play an active role in the learning community at Kujawa EC/PK Center. She regularly attends school activities, parent events, performances, graduation, and reads to classes on a monthly basis. We are honored to be named after such a dedicated educator who gives so much back to the community.

Teacher of the Year
2008-2009: Christopher Dickson, Music
2009-2010: Cherie Cooper, SPPCD
2010-2011: Trang Nguyen, Vietnamese PK
2011-2012: Elizabeth Scholl, Bilingual PK
2012-2013: Ana Thompson, Bilingual PK
2013-2014: Jessica Rodriguez, Bilingual PK
2014-2015: Ridgette Holman, Regular PK
2015-2016: Darlene Shew, Regular PK
2016-2017: Tracie Hunter, Regular PK
2017-2018: Vanessa Crozier, Regular PK